Tired of Lorem Ipsum? Check Out These 12 Hilarious Image and Text Placeholders

by 19 03/30/2012

Lorem ipsum can get a little boring if you use placeholder text often. And why fill your beautiful site with boring grey boxes when you’re waiting on images from a client?

Try one of these hilarious (and not always client appropriate) alternatives for image and text placeholders!

Funny Text Placeholders

Bacon Ipsum (baconipsum.com)

http://baconipsum.com/

Every cut of meat you can think of!

“Bacon ipsum dolor sit amet cupidatat dolore spare ribs sirloin laboris, id leberkas short ribs swine corned beef proident minim. Corned beef in brisket, nostrud labore qui turducken.”

Pair with placeholder images from baconmockup.com for a well-balanced website.

Vegan Ipsum (veganipsum.com)

http://veganipsum.com
Looking for a meat-free alternative? Try this healthy reaction to Bacon Ipsum.

“Melokhia asparagus chickpea leaves. Water spinach, cress paracress water chestnut. Potato land cress daikon – west indian gherkin daikon, kai-lan elephant garlic bamboo shoot kohlrabi.”

Liquor Ipsum (liquoripsum.com)

liquoripsum.com

Liquor Ipsum’s long list of cocktails and tonics might just leave you thirsty!

“Liquor ipsum dolor sit amet glen moray, bowmore fleischmann’s chimayó cocktail, jacquin pepe lopez tequila sunrise old crow pall mall.”

Cupcake Ipsum (cupcakeipsum.com)

http://cupcakeipsum.com/

Have a sweet tooth?

“Cupcake ipsum dolor sit amet sugar plum liquorice icing. Marshmallow macaroon danish sesame snaps chocolate bar.”

Space Ipsum (spaceipsum.com)

spaceipsum.com

If you’re interested in the extraterrestrial, you may want to try Space Ipsum.

“I am a stranger. I come in peace. Take me to your leader and there will be a massive reward for you in eternity.”

Bluth Ipsum (bluthipsum.com)

http://bluthipsum.com/

Love Arrested Development? You’ll love these Bluth quotes!

“We’re just blowing through nap time, aren’t we?”

Comic Ipsum (comicipsum.com)

http://comicipsum.com/

Your designs get heroic with this text generator.

“Jack-jack sage tigra agent zero superman captain atlas blink, hawkwoman punisher, callisto steel kitty pride.”

Chuck Norris Ipsum (chuckipsum.com)

http://chuckipsum.com/

Can’t get enough of Chuck Norris? Fill your text boxes with these Chuck facts.

“Ironically, Chuck Norris’ hidden talent is invisibility.”

Funny Image Placeholders

Placeholder images are convenient when you don’t have final images but you don’t want an empty design or a dull grey box. Sites like the ones below make it easy.

placesheen (placesheen.com)

http://placesheen.com/

If you’re keeping up with Charlie Sheen’s latest hijinks, this image placeholder site is just for you.

Placekitten (placekitten.com)

http://placekitten.com/

What could be cuter than kittens?

placedog (placedog.com)

http://placedog.com/

placepuppy (placepuppy.it)

http://placepuppy.it/

Not down with the cats rule, dogs drool crowd? Try placeholder dogs or placepuppy!

Next time you’re working on a project and need placeholder text or images, try one of these unconventional alternatives.

Know of other text or image placeholder services? Please comment!

About 

Angela Noble is a designer and partner at Kovalent who specializes in print and web design. You can find out more about her and view her portfolio at http://angelanoble.com or follow her on Twitter @AngelaNoble_.

Get our Daily Newsletter

Get conversion optimization, design and copywriting articles delivered to your inbox FREE

19 COMMENTS

Martijn

Cool list! I’m missing this one though:
http://lorizzle.nl/
Gangsta Lorem Ipsum.

March 30, 2012 Reply

Cat

I love these! Delightful!

I’ll need to be careful, though, because while Lorem Ipsum is immediately “fake” text, I could see a site launching with cute kitties and Space Ipsum text.

March 30, 2012 Reply

    Russ Henneberry

    @Cat – Or worse, some Charlie Sheen placeholder images!

    March 30, 2012 Reply

      Cat

      Ha! I sort of want to make a whole website of nothing but Charlie Sheen placeholder (and the others!) images. Although I suppose that is what Tumblr is for!

      April 2, 2012 Reply

Paul Underwood

Chuck Norris Ipsum awesome!

March 30, 2012 Reply

Jessica Shailes

Love this – I’m making a vegan site funnily enough so the vegan one is perfect!

April 1, 2012 Reply

Waggit

For anyone that loves cheese, there is the Cheese Ipsum: http://www.cheeseipsum.co.uk

May 28, 2012 Reply

Will

I’ve added PlaceApe.com to the mix ;-) Everyone knows apes/monkeys are better than cats and dogs!

July 13, 2012 Reply

Technostropic

You missed the Samuel L Ipsum! http://slipsum.com

September 28, 2012 Reply

Catnipsum

~Meow! I’m all about fun ipsum, here is my new website to add to the list of ipsum to make your clients go awww! http://www.catnipsum.com Please let me know what you think XD

September 28, 2012 Reply

Peter Tracy

Tired of conventional dummy copy? Try Cat Ipsum a furrier alternative to Lorem Ipsum!

December 3, 2012 Reply

Ryan Olson

I know this is an old post but I wanted to shamelessly plug my site.
http://www.placebeard.it, Bearded place holder images.

October 25, 2013 Reply

Luc

Also Borat Ipsum: boratipsum.com/

July 29, 2014 Reply


Leave comment

Some HTML allowed

Get conversion optimization & A/B testing articles FREE >>>